You are here

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of seven members that are appointed by the Township Board. The members review and approve the following types of items:

  • Commercial and industrial site plans for new construction and additions
  • Residential developments
  • Multiple family developments
  • Special land uses
  • Public hearings for rezoning requests and amendments to the zoning ordinance
  • Updating the Township’s master plan.

The Planning Commission meets on the first Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. They hold other meetings as needed, for study sessions. The fees for Planning Commission and additional fees for engineering and planning review are assessed on a per-project basis. Please call the Planning Department at (248) 960-7050 for more information.

Planning Commission Members

Thomas Jones – Vice-Chairperson

John Hindo – Township Board Representative

Lawrence Haber – Chairperson

Brian Winkler – Secretary

Bill McKeever – Zoning Board of Appeals Representative

Jay Czarnecki - Member

Russ Schinzing - Member

If you are interested in an appointment to the Commerce Township Planning Commission, please submit your letter of interest and resume to the Township Supervisor, Thomas K. Zoner, 2009 Township Drive, Commerce, MI 48390.